Skip to content

Three Safety Experts Honored as ASSP Fellows

The American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP), the world’s oldest professional safety organization, is bestowing the honor of Fellow on three longtime members who have made significant contributions to the occupational safety and health profession. Timothy R. Fisher, Michael W. Hayslip and Carl W. Heinlein are the 2021 recipients of the Society’s highest honor.

Timothy R. Fisher, CSP, CHMM, CPEA, CAE, ARM, STS, FASSP, is director of standards development and technical services at ASSP. He has made significant contributions to the Society as a staff member and volunteer during a professional career that spans more than 30 years. Fisher’s work on hundreds of national consensus standards has been vital in modernizing the occupational safety and health profession. His experience has led to valuable interactions with a diverse set of stakeholders and subject matter experts. Fisher is a recipient of the Air Force Achievement Medal and the Allstate Chairman’s Quality Award. He is also a two-time recipient of the ASSP President’s Award. Fisher has been an ASSP member since 1995.

Michael W. Hayslip, J.D., P.E., CSP, FASSP, is in-house legal counsel for Cleveland Construction Inc. and president and CEO of National Excavation and Safety Training Institute (NESTI), an international construction safety training and litigation support firm. His valuable contributions to ASSP and the occupational safety and health profession include serving on ASSP’s Board of Directors, Government Affairs Committee, ANSI/ASSP A10 Standards Committee and National Advisory Committee for Construction Safety and Health. Hayslip has authored highly circulated publications for the Construction Practice Specialty and his local chapter. He mentors and trains students and emerging professionals. He has been an ASSP member since 1995.

Carl W. Heinlein, ARM, CIT, CPEA, CRIS, CSHM, CSP, OHST, STSC, FAIHA, FASSP, is senior safety consultant at American Contractors Insurance Group. He is a well-regarded advocate for the occupational safety and health profession, contributing to workplace safety in the federal government, academia and the private sector. Heinlein has taught and lectured at the university level, served on academic program advisory committees, and served as president of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals and director-at-large with the Alliance of Hazardous Materials Professionals and ASSP. As a safety consultant, he develops training programs for major organizations, connecting professionals and influencing industry. Heinlein has been an ASSP member since 1993.

ASSP’s three new Fellows will be honored at a virtual awards ceremony this summer.

For more information, visit

Share on Socials!

Related Articles

Related Articles

TVH Names Dirk von Holt as President

TVH in the Americas (TVH), a leading provider of quality replacement parts and accessories for the material handling and industrial equipment industry, is proud to announce ...
Read More

Melanie Mayer Recognized for Industry Young Safety Professional Excellence

Haws® is pleased to announce that Quality and Compliance Manager, Melanie Mayer has been recognized by EHS Daily Advisor for Young Safety Professional Excellence. Melanie has ...
Read More

Company Profile: Larson Electronics

Our Mission Larson Electronics is dedicated in offering an extensive range of industrial lighting and power distribution products for businesses, professionals and enthusiasts. We have over ...
Read More
Scroll To Top